According to the WELS Constitution and Bylaws, ministerial education schools, boards and committees, and subsidiaries may ask WELS pastors, male professors and teachers, and voting members of WELS congregations to nominate qualified individuals for called positions and/or board positions. Current nomination alerts are listed below.


As authorized by the WELS Constitution and Bylaws, the Governing Board of Martin Luther College (MLC), New Ulm, Minn., invites WELS pastors, male professors and teachers, and voting members of WELS congregations to nominate a qualified . . .

  • male teacher for the position of professor of education and director of field experiences. The position would be responsible for on-campus teaching in programs of education as well as fulfilling a leadership role among students and professors involved in field experiences. This leadership involves connecting with students in education programs, providing professional development for those who work with practice teachers, and ensuring that in-class and out-of-class education experiences at MLC complement one another. Nominees must be strong teachers, examples, and role models for on-campus staff and MLC students. A master’s degree in a field of education is preferred, but a willingness to pursue such a degree if not currently held is required. This call is being extended in order to fill a vacancy that was created when Prof. Paul Tess retired at the end of the 2020-2021 school year.
  • male or female teacher for the position of professor of physical education and head softball coach. This position is responsible for teaching courses in MLC’s licensed physical education major and also carrying out the duties of head softball coach. Nominees must be knowledgeable and apt to teach physical education and coach softball at the collegiate level, energetic and enthusiastic with students/recruits/players, and embrace the mission of MLC as it seeks to train candidates for ministry service in WELS. This is a new position created by the desire of MLC to increase the time allotted for all coaches on campus to coach and recruit in their various sports. A master’s degree in the appropriate field is preferred.

All nominations must be received by Jan. 28, 2022.

The list of candidates will be published below.



The following laymen have been nominated to serve as a member of the Accounting Oversight Committee.

Mr. Bruce Burger, Seward, Neb.

Mr. Nathan Pasbrig, Oak Forest, Ill.

Mr. Dennis Priebe, Appleton, Wis.

Mr. Kevin Rusch, Menasha, Wis.

Mr. Bret Witkowski, St. Joseph, Mich.


Want to stay up-to-date with nominations for synod positions?
Sign up to receive alerts in your e-mail.